top of page
Featured Posts

To Do List: Read Books About Boss Ladies


As most of my friends know, I love books. If you go to my apartment, you will see that I have too little space for too many books (and that’s not counting the books on my Kindle). My schedule throughout college hasn’t afforded me the time I wish I had to spend reading, but I made a vow to myself to change that this year. Despite how crazy my schedule may get between classes and interning, I am challenging myself to finish one book per month this semester. My hope is that I’ll be able to read even more once I graduate in May.

So, what’s on my reading list for 2016? It probably will not come as a surprise that I enjoy reading books about women, for women and by women. Womanhood means something different to every woman and I appreciate exploring womanhood through literature and humor. While I probably won’t be able to finish all these titles within the semester, below are the books I’m looking forward to reading this year:

Nonfiction:

Bad Feminist by Roxanne Gay: Gay explores contemporary feminism through a series of witty and humorous essays on politics and pop culture. Sounds like blast – seriously.

Yes, Please by Amy Poehler: I am a HUGE Amy Poehler fan. From tackling negative stereotypes about women in comedy and creating her own website that helps young people cultivate authentic selves through knowledge and imagination, Ms. Poehler’s story is sure to be insightful and hilarious.

I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou: Many of you might have been assigned to read this in a high school English class but I, alas, was not. Maya Angelou is a feminist and literary icon. I think reading her memoir is almost a rite of passage.

I Am Malala by Malala Yousafzai: Our girls in SWSG learned about Malala in a lesson last semester, and while her story can be quite scary, the girls really absorbed Malala’s lessons of bravery and courage. Ms. Yousafzai is the youngest-ever Nobel Prize laureate and I think we could all benefit from learning more about her and the amazing work she does.

Fiction:

Shanghai Girls by Lisa See: Fun fact: I LOVE historical fiction. On the brink of WWII, two sisters are forced to embark on an incredible journey after their father gambles away their wealth and sells them as wives to suitors from Los Angeles seeking Chinese brides. I always find it interesting to look at the lives of women in different cultural and historical contexts.

The Book of Unknown Americans by Cristina Henríquez: This novel focuses on the contemporary immigrant experience through the story of fifteen-year-old Maribel Rivera, who emigrates to the United States from Mexico after a terrible injury. It was named a New York Times and Washington Post Notable Book, an NPR Great Read, The Daily Beast's Novel of the Year, and a Mother Jones, Oprah.com, School Library Journal, and BookPage Best Book of the Year – sounds like it shouldn’t disappoint!

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood: Another title that I’m a little disappointed I haven’t gotten around to just yet. The Handmaid’s Tale encapsulates readers in a dystopian world where women are only valued by the use of their ovaries. Atwood’s novel is meant to serve as satire and a warning all at once.

If you’re looking for reading suggestions on books that I’ve actually read, fret not! I’ve listed here some of my favorites that I’ve read over the past few years.

Nonfiction:

Wild by Cheryl Strayed: You might’ve heard of this memoir (or perhaps its film counterpart starring Reese Witherspoon) and, let me tell you, it is definitely worth the hype. Strayed writes with such vivid imagery and emotion, it almost moved me to tears a number of times. As a self-proclaimed feminist, Strayed doesn’t shy away from recounting to readers how she struggled with defining her womanhood during a time of great pain in her life.

Bossypants by Tina Fey: Tina Fey’s essays honestly helped me find more of my voice. We all know that Ms. Fey is a funny lady, but she is also leader. Oftentimes, when women and girls display leadership skills they are labeled as “bossy.” Tina Fey helped me realize that my thoughts and opinions are worth more than some outdated, negative perception of my leadership. Plus, the book features a story about Don Fey, Tina’s father, and a carpet steam cleaner that is a gem.

Is Everybody Hanging Out without Me? (And Other Concerns) by Mindy Kaling: One thing I love about Mindy Kaling is her honesty. Mindy doesn’t hide the fact that, yes, she has struggled with body image and, no, she doesn’t think it’s a compliment when she is told how “brave” she is for being on television. This book is truly fun read.

Why Not Me? by Mindy Kaling: I basically spent Christmas Eve 2015 alternating between consuming this book and consuming delicious food. My copy of the book is actually signed by Ms. Kaling herself and is probably one of my most prized possessions.

Fiction:

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini: This one of my all-time favorite books. The book tells the story of two women, Mariam and Laila, brought together by heartbreaking circumstances. The bond they form helps them to face dangers in their home as well as their community, and proves just how strong a woman’s love can be.

Americanah by Chichimanda Ngozi Adiche: This novel is about so many incredibly important topics, I’m not even sure where to begin. It is about race, immigration, feminism, love, nationalism –basically, it is a great literary feat. I would tell you more, but I really urge you to read it for yourself.

The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan: This is one of the first books I read while studying abroad in Ghana during the Spring 2014 semester. At the time, I had just recently rekindled my relationship with my mother, so this book, which focuses on mother-daughter relationships in Chinese immigrant families, was particularly touching. Human relationships can be messy and complicated, yet all the while beautiful and I think this novel demonstrates that in a magnificent way.

If you’re ever looking to chat about books, do not hesitate to reach out to me! I will without a doubt be up for the conversation. Happy 2016 and happy reading, SWSG!


Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page